.

CURRAN'S FULL REBUTTAL TO EVERETT LETTER

This week’s Rye City review contains a rebuttal from me in response to a letter previously submitted by Nick Everett, Chairman of the Rye City Planning Commission (a volunteer position appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council) and apparent Consultant to Sustainable Playland.

Unfortunately, my original submission to the Rye City Review was too lengthy, and in the process of necessary editing on their part got watered down and lost some of its original context.

(Click here to Review Mr. Everett’s letter to Rye Mayor Doug French and members of the City Council)

(Click here to see the Rye City Review’s condensed version of my reply.)

Here is my rebuttal, in full, with my own editing:

This is all very interesting. On Saturday November 9th, 2013 I was sick in bed for most of the day with a bad case of fever and chills, not answering any phone calls from anyone (actually oblivious that the phone was even ringing).  Two times that day Mr. Everett called my home phone number trying to contact me, once at 11:42am and again at 1:35pm. When he was unable to leave a voice mail because my box was full, he proceeded to send me the following email at 1:45pm:

On Sat, Nov 9, 2013 at 1:45 PM, Nick Everett wrote:

Deirdre

You have used social media sites to post several statements about me that are untrue and misleading.  I tried to call your number (914)xxx-xxxx but was unable to  leave a message since your mail box was full.  I would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you in order to make clear several issues that you have raised.  My home number is (914)xxx-xxxx.(Curran’s note: I see no reason to print our personal home phone numbers in the newspaper.)

Thank you

Nick Everett

I didn’t feel any particular need to respond immediately, as 1) I couldn’t physically talk on the phone because I was simply too sick and 2) I found it highly inappropriate that never having personally met this man or given him my contact information he would attempt to contact me at home over this issue.  I also found the wording of the above email to be a thinly disguised attempt at intimidation –which doesn’t work with me (newsflash!).

On Monday November 11th, I responded with the following email to Mr. Everett (which I thought was quite reasonable):

Mr. Everett, if you would like to send me links to the specific comments that you have an issue with and explain your concerns to me in writing, I would be happy to review them.

In the meantime, might I suggest that if you are concerned about public comments being made which you feel are spreading misinformation you can and should attend the November 20th SPI "presentation" at the Rye Free Reading Room, 7-9pm where you will be able to publicly/on-the-record clarify any points you feel are being misunderstood and answer any questions that may come up from the public.

 

Mr. Everett never replied to this email from me.

 

He instead proceeded directly with his “open letter” to the leaders of the community which was published in the Rye City Review and the Rye Record, as well as on the LausDeo web site.

(Click here to read Mr. Everett’s open letter, as well as the LausDeo rebuttal)

(Click here to read the original report on LausDeo10580 outlining Mr. Everett’s dual involvement with Sustainable Playland and the Rye City Planning Commission.)

I contacted Leon Sculti to find out if, as the author of the original article on LausDeo that I had commented on, he had received a similar communication from Mr. Everett. Interestingly (but not surprisingly), he had not.  Subsequent to this open letter from Mr. Everett, addressed to Mayor French and the City Council (as if they can make a member of the public apologize for expressing an opinion about something going on in the community)  specifically naming Leon Sculti and Ray Tartaglione as my co-offenders, I also contacted Mr. Tartaglione to see if HE had received a similar communication from Mr. Everett. He had not.

Mr. Everett at no time made any attempt to contact either one of these men privately at their homes to discuss his beef with their comments about him; only me.  It will not be lost on any women reading this exactly what was going on there.  You have the same issue with three people, two of whom are men, one of whom is a woman, and the only one of the three you choose to target personally is the woman.  A classic bullying and intimidation tactic – that doesn’t work with this particular woman.

At no time have I ever made mention of Mr. Everett’s wife or family.

He essentially demands an apology from me, but after being asked to outline exactly which comments it is that he was concerned with and that he thinks I owe him an apology for, he has no response.  How can I offer any apology if I'm not being told specifically what it is that I am apologizing for? I am supposed to apologize for having an opinion?  I think not.

In closing it strikes me that the most interesting part of his whole letter is that Mr. Everett states that when the SPI issue comes before the City Planning Commission he has said from the get-go that he would recuse himself (“As I have stated to anyone who asked, when the SPI plan is on the Planning Commission agenda, I will recuse myself.”).  Seems to me that if you know from the outset that there is something you are being asked by a personal friend to be involved with that will require you to recuse yourself from any decision making down the road as you sit on a city planning commission, that’s your tip-off that you shouldn’t be getting involved with it to begin with. You shouldn’t be touching it with a ten foot pole. Period.

Now I have to wonder just who owes who an apology. Perhaps the apology would be more apt coming from Mr. Everett to myself, Mr. Sculti, Mr. Tartaglione and all the members of the Rye community.

Link to the "Consultant Team" on Sustainable Playland's web site listing AP Construction:

http://www.sustainableplayland.org/consultant.shtml

Link to AP Construction's "Our Team" page showing Mr. Everett as an Executive VP:

http://www.apconst.com/ourteam.html

Don't miss this SPI promotional video from their web site, and make sure you fast forward to minutes 2:56 and 5:13 to catch Mr. Everett's TWO appearances!

http://www.sustainableplayland.org/

Link to Rye City Gov web site PDF page showing members of the Planning Commission, with Mr. Everett as Chairman: http://www.egovlink.com/public_documents300/rye/unpublished_documents/CLERK/BC%20List%20Website.pdf


Conflict of interest?  You decide.

(Please note: The Sustainable Playland community presentation regarding the 95,000 square foot construction they propose for the Playland Parking Lot will now take place on Weds. December 11th, 2013, 7-9pm at the Rye Free Reading Room. The date was changed from November 20th.)

 











Louse Dumas December 05, 2013 at 01:42 PM
I don't talk about other people's mothers as a matter of practice. Trolling Etiquette 101 says that unless their mother does something as stupid as them then they are fair game. If not leave them be.
Committee for Election Equality December 05, 2013 at 02:40 PM
Louse Dumass/Ed Volpe, 42 Meadow, Rye NY, Hen Island polluter, Hen Island vandal, urinator on tents of young girls camping - Volpe, there is a rumor going around that there is a movement to recall the BOE. Can you shed any light on this for us? You seem to be an expert on everything else, especially things about which you don't know what you are talking about. Isn't your family just mortified to have to carry the name "Volpe" at this point? Speaking of, my father and his brother invented the laser at RCA Labs in the '60's, what did yours do?
Louse Dumas December 05, 2013 at 04:53 PM
Wouldn't urinating on a tent be bad enough? does it always have to be young girls? instead of taking the high road and coming off as a sympathetic player you again as if on cue resort to the same old smug natured buffoon...pathetic but always entertaining! thanks!
tedc December 05, 2013 at 05:15 PM
Please excuse this perhaps untimely PSL – Troll War interruption.---I understand from last night’s meeting that a copy of Rye’s latest “strong letter” to the county will soon be posted to the city web site. Anyone who’s seen the multi-decade history of the County v City of Rye skirmishes over Playland laid bare in the Rye Chronicle should review this letter writing project as the standard Rye lawyer PR placebo that it is. The County may try making nice for a while, may agree to “listen,” but it really doesn’t have to. Because as I wrote above, the county always wins, Rye always loses. To prevent another total rout here Rye citizens better get behind Deirdre and Steve, who’ve done a solid job of spot lighting the SPI evolutionary plan weaknesses in front of the Democratic majority of the county board of legislators. The legislators have explored the total superficiality of the SPI submissions and related omissions and have found them wanting. Rye needs friends in that legislature and no one (especially Ms. Parker whose high bench mob made sure Deirdre got the Full Schubert Treatment) is more trusted by them to bring the facts than Deirdre and Steve. For those of you thinking I’m a flat-earther about improving Playland you’re misguided. A successful ride operator could make the place fantastic. And the parking lot would need to expand not contract. But old political habits and patterns die hard and cajole then backstab, bait then switch is just pure Kevin Plunkett v Rye tradecraft. Rye, to use a low word, is his bitch. Note the legislature is still waiting for the independent audit of park operations? Right. Astorino needed to preserve his election talking point that the park loses $3M-$5M year in and out. Right. So where for 4 years of the Astorino Administration has been the Astorino promised independent audit? Here’s a newsflash – the park doesn’t lose money, it’s made to lose money through expense allocations. And the audit firms couldn’t help but disclose that. That reality would not support the SPI story – and without “the crisis” there would be few public asset spoils to divvy out. The Mooney/Plunkett listening tour coming to town next week should be viewed for what it is. And the great public gem that is Playland could be almost within their grasp.------ http://www.lausdeo10580.com/lausdeo10580/2013/04/rye-city-mgr-deputy-county-exec-kevin-plunkett-vetted-agency-that-stole-hundreds-of-thousands-of-dol.html
Committee for Election Equality December 05, 2013 at 05:19 PM
Those are the undisputed facts, Volpe, from eye witnesses and video tapes before you banned surveillance equipment on your fiefdom (a.k.a. Hen Island) - you and the disgraced Mayor French were drunk, you went on a rampage on Hen Island destroying everything you could get your hands on, and just before you called it a night you urinated on a tent, and it turned out be to occupied by young girls. It would seem that the relevation of some of my pedigree has thrown you for a loop - there's more, where my late wife was the inventor of the Lamont catheter, a widely used device in interventional cardiology. Simply, Volpe, some people devote their lives to the benefit of society as a whole, me and Iviewit enabling delivery and streaming of HD, Dad and uncle enabling laser technology, and my wife keeping other people out of the surgical unit of open heart bypass surgery - get the picture. Others, thrill themselves with a fire hose and make a laughing stock out of themselves on a public blog.
Committee for Election Equality December 05, 2013 at 05:44 PM
"expense allocations?" "public asset spoils?" C'mon, Tedc you could do better than that. Maybe turning 40 last month has gotten you a little soft in your middle years. Try out "it's a spigot for dirty money" - no audit, spigot flows, independent audit and the spigot dries up...and it all turns about the status of people's money - not entertainment value, historic places, the neighborhood SPI threatens to decapitate, the traffic jams, cars parked on Mack's lawn we will have to endure. You, Deidre, and Steve are talking about people's money - but you at least know that...;)
Committee for Election Equality December 05, 2013 at 08:50 PM
SPI/Playland, SPI/Playland, SPI/Playland...call it "expense allocations" call it "public asset spoils" call it "the spigot for dirty money" call it the CULTURE OF CORRUPTION the same goings on since the Mob bosses cut their deal with the NYS Judiciary in the 1950's where Westchester being one of the wealthiest counties in NY, and, well you know the rest...keep your eye on the ball and on Rye United in the upcoming weeks...
Deirdre Curran December 05, 2013 at 09:32 PM
OK, I take back what I said earlier about the SPI presentation being broadcast live and live-streamed. It appears that, in fact, while Rye City TV will be TAPING the event, it will be "edited" and then put up online for viewing and broadcast after the fact on the gov tv channel. It will NOT be aired live while it's happening. Apparently they cannot do that from the Library for some reason. I suggested moving it across the grass to City Hall, but I think there is another meeting that night using the chambers.
Deirdre Curran December 05, 2013 at 09:33 PM
Sorry Smelly, you'll have to go to the videotape after the fact, thought you were going to be able to *almost* be there in person.
Louse Dumas December 06, 2013 at 08:21 AM
Just have PSOL invent the device that can work from the library and stream it into his proprietary domains! Oh wait they already have that invention it's just that ADap signed out RyeTV's gear to do another expose with LD10580 on how corrupt the mayor's real estate dealings are.
Deirdre Curran December 06, 2013 at 08:31 AM
Well, I dunno about all that, but I did ask Ms. Levitsky and Mr. Pickup if they couldn't just move the SPI thing across the grass so that it can be broadcast live as well as taped. Someone else mentioned that the meeting taking place in chambers may be one that can be held anywhere and doesn't need to be taped...checking on that.
Anne McCarthy December 06, 2013 at 10:14 AM
Getting back to Ted C's post about Playland's financials, I go back to my January 11, 2011 quote in a Patch article by Satta Samah, "We've all bought the theory that Playland is a financial burden. It's not." I don't know about Rye being Plunkett's female dog in heat but I do see this as standard operating procedure for many Republicans: mismanage public resources (or show mismanagement) to the point where they need to be privatized (DEVELOPED). Then, privatize (DEVELOP) it with friends and family. It is tiresome to hear people say, "SPI has put up $200,000 of their own money. Why don't you put up money?" I didn't know parks were for sale! Is this the new paradigm: If you have money to throw at public parks, go ahead, maybe you can lease it (yes, LEASE it) and fulfill dreams of managing a sports facility despite having no experience or track record whatsoever. Just like RGC doesn't need to be privatized, neither does Playland. Real financials combined with some investment and price tweaking would result in an even more profitable Playland.
RyeDad December 06, 2013 at 12:20 PM
Deirdre, Of course Rye could move this meeting to city hall but they won't. The Landmarks committee is meeting in City Hall that night. This committee consists of 2 people, one of whom is wanna be republican Maurio Sax. All they do is tell Laura Brett how great she is. You don't want to deny Laura Brett this opportunity do you?====================================== Speaking of landmarks, Astorino, Plunkett, French and Jowannasniff want to put a 95,000 square foot eyesore building within a NATIONAL HISTORIC LANDMARK and not one word from Rye's landmark committee except Laura Brett is great (insert fake blushing here).
dita von struedel van trappyodel December 06, 2013 at 01:01 PM
Louse - are you drinking buddies with Doug French? Cool. Deirdre: maybe I'll postpone my trip and attend the meeting. You'll be able to tell who I am... come over an introduce yourself!
Committee for Election Equality December 06, 2013 at 05:32 PM
Deirdre, is it true that the proposed field house is only 35 ft. high? If so, how are kids supposed to play indoor soccer when some of the more talented ones can kick a ball nearly 40 yards high on any goalie punt? Thanks.
Deirdre Curran December 06, 2013 at 08:30 PM
Smelly, as much as I'd love to have you there (with clean pants, just this once please for the special occasion!) I wouldn't expect anyone to delay leaving NY in December for the warm tropics just for this! I'm still working on getting it live broadcast. Who in the world would turn down a great free marketing opportunity such as that?
Deirdre Curran December 06, 2013 at 08:32 PM
PSL - I don't know if it's true about the height. You raise an excellent question. I don't know if anything SPI puts out as "information" is ever shall we say...errrrr..."accurate". I'm assuming that at this point in time they must have blueprints and site plans all worked out seeing as how they were planning on breaking ground this coming March, so presumably they will bring those so that we can see the specifics. (she said with a raised and very skeptical eyebrow....)
Deirdre Curran December 06, 2013 at 08:36 PM
Anne - you are spot on, as usual. So are you, RyeDad. I really *would* like Laura Brett to comprehensively explain how she manages to reconcile this huge commercial development with "historic preservation" of the park and the grand vision of taking it back to its original incarnation.
Committee for Election Equality December 10, 2013 at 01:30 PM
After Pickup and Wilson tried to shake me down for unpaid membership dues prior to our move to Coveleigh, Pickup has until 01/31/14 to repay me $4,000+ in lost waiters tips and inflated dues else the Committee will file a 2nd Amended Complaint naming him as an additional defendant for Negligence and Breach of Fiduciaries in the Rye Golf Club affair...got him right where a lot of people have wanted him...;)
Louse Dumas December 10, 2013 at 02:57 PM
who wants to take bets on this that nothing will once again come of this POSL post?? Maybe we will learn that the "committee" invented country clubs in 1865 when the LaLuzas were sailing over on the SS Tiddilleedinks from the old country
Committee for Election Equality December 10, 2013 at 05:00 PM
it's ok, Volpe...we're in no hurry. Let Pickup think about it long and hard, try to have a nice holiday, but watch out for those Christmas Eve blitzkriegs that I just love to use. Maybe he'll think twice before he tries to shake down a Rye resident for political purposes. As for his accomplice, did you ever see a female attorney reduced to tears in Federal court....;)...? I have!
Committee for Election Equality December 10, 2013 at 05:10 PM
it was just a serious miscalculation, Volpe, just like his whole life is a series of miscalculations. Although, I hail from the laid back valleys of the Sunshine state, I got my training in NY under the meanest SOB's that have ever walked on the face of the Earth...lol...then again, should he voluntarily RESIGN by 12/23, well...
Louse Dumas December 10, 2013 at 05:14 PM
Reducing females to tears gets you off or is it just female attorneys? You are one sick turkey. I mention SS Tiddilleewinks and you talk about blitzkriegs?? Are you one of those Napa County Nazis we hear about on the internet? The patterns that emerge from your posts is quite disturbing. I hope Little POSL isn't going to follow in daddy's footsteps...
Committee for Election Equality December 10, 2013 at 06:02 PM
Volpe, you're kidding right??? For someone who gets off on urinating on tents occupied by young girls camping have you suddenly gotten religion? This is business and business is as business is done, period. No Ryyyyeeeee City employee should try to shake down a resident for purported clubs fees, especially when that resident is ME...lol, lol
Committee for Election Equality December 10, 2013 at 06:07 PM
Pickup's problem is that he thinks he's the CEO (never in his lifetime) of some wannabe-Mafioso crime organization where he can do whatever he want's so long as the buried bodies are not found...well, from what I hear, plenty of bodies have been found.... then again, should he voluntarily RESIGN by 12/23, well...
Committee for Election Equality December 10, 2013 at 06:12 PM
Let's not beat around the bush, it is not a resignation request, it is a DEMAND to resign by Christmas Eve, effective 12/31/14, or else the Committee is going to slam him.
Deirdre Curran December 10, 2013 at 07:28 PM
Oh dear. The comment thread has gone off the rails again....*sigh*.
Deirdre Curran December 10, 2013 at 07:38 PM
So ANYway...last week there was the newspaper article (LoHud, I think) mentioning that while working on the budget the BOL was tying $2.5 million from SPI into the 2014 County Budget to go towards childcare. I pretty much went ballistic on that one, although you might have missed it (emails to Legislators) TODAY, after a long day yesterday that dragged on through last night and well into the wee hours of today and lots of hard work by the Legislators, the BOL passed the 2014 budget. In THIS press release from the BOL, there is no more mention of $2.5 million coming from SPI for child care...or any mention of SPI at all. Or PLAYLAND. (although they seem to have found money for the child care program, which is a good thing, just not from Playland's coffers). So...if the BOL has their last meeting of 2013 on Dec. 16th...gotta wonder what news of Playland may be coming out over the next week.
Deirdre Curran December 10, 2013 at 07:38 PM
http://westchesterlegislators.com/media-center/2386-westchester-legislators-include-expanded-child-care-and-safety-net-funding-in-fy-2014-budget.html
Deirdre Curran December 12, 2013 at 07:15 AM
So, video pending of last night's 12/11/13 SPI "presentation" at the Rye Library on the Field House. What a hot mess that was! Morque had to end it 20 minutes early to avoid having to take any more questions because the crowd was ready to eat them alive (for not *really* answering anyone's questions). Their few supporters were leaving in a huff because their egos couldn't stand the suddenly new concept that there is real living breathing evidence that, in fact, NOT everyone is on board with this debacle, and there were some great one-liners that came out if whenever they put their foot in their mouths with their arrogance and condescending remarks towards the attendees who didn't like what was going on. I believe at one point we were instructed by Morque not to "question their integrity". There was a lot of laughing going on because the whole charade was so ridiculous. Another comment that brought peals of laughter was when Morque tried to tell us that we had nothing to worry about because of Rye's wonderful planning commission. Guess he missed the memo that we all know the sitting Chairperson of that committee is one of his personal friends and consultants. And no, Mr. Everett was NOT there to explain himself, clarify his involvement or answer questions. Nice job SPI!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something